Skip navigation

My psychic journey began with a little book called Psychic Warrior by David Morehouse. I was either in middle school or early high school when I found it. It was in the fiction section. I’ll never forget getting to the end of that book and finding the author’s footnote explaining that even though the story was marketed as fiction, it was in fact the author’s true first hand account of events as he experienced them.

While the veracity of that claim has since been called into question, and anyone who’s done even a little research on psi knows about the Stargate project, I was young and impressionable, and this was the first time I had ever seen anyone “adult” taking psi seriously. It forced me to re-examine my priorities as an adolescent. Not only that, but it was extremely affirming to me as someone who had collected a few extra-normal experiences that I really had no one to talk to about.

So I did what any enterprising youth of my generation would do. I put it to Google.

If you’re new to the game I’m not sure you realize how good you have it. The search results you would get back then are almost incomparable to what you’d find now. In more concrete terms, it’s like comparing Pokemon Red to Pokemon Black. Still basically the same, but wholly different. So it was with trepidation that I stumbled into a little back corner of the internet called PsiPog.net (Which has recently been revamped into Psionics Online).

Unlike now, PsiPog was pretty spartan as far as websites went. The only images were the websote logo and whatever the article writers managed to spew onto MS Paint. Think a GameFAQs walkthrough with maps drawn is ASCII. Guys, I can’t even find what the old website looked like on the wayback machine. I’m surprised it still exists.

However, it was here that my understanding of psi was nurtured, developed, and gained traction. Through the articles hosted on PsiPog I discovered many of the techniques that I still use today. I learned about grounding, shielding, energy manipulation, OBEs, remote viewing, constructs, etc. If you are just now starting to research psi and spirituality, and are looking for a place to get started, you could do worse.

I think what most attracted me to PsiPog was that their approach was so scientific; none of this woo-woo mystical bullshit (if I may borrow from and twist into a more condescending phrase by Adana Wtn). They took metaphysical abilities as a given, and wasted no time trying to convince or cajole anyone to come around to their way of thinking. All their articles were available for free, and they frequently did web seminars and classes through IRC, which they then posted the logs of on their site. They provided real, simple, straightforward instruction on how to train your own psi ability — and that was it.

Now, none of this would have taken root if I hadn’t had the foundation already laid, which I already talked about in a previous post. If I had been a different type of person than the one that I was or hadn’t had the experiences that I did, I probably would have written the footnote in Psychic Warrior off as an exercise in metanarrative fiction, which some authors indulge in these days. But I wasn’t, and I didn’t. So here we are.

 

Leave a Reply

