Skip navigation

What unexpected events will happen in my life?

It’s Friday, and that means it’s time to break out the five-card spread. We’ll keep it traditional and go from far past to far future. As the weekend wears on my readings tend to get more serious, so today I decided to ask “What unexpected events will happen in my life?” I’m the kind of person who doesn’t like to be caught off guard, so anything I can do to be prepared is worth investigating.

The Star represents faith, opening your heart, and being taken to a higher level. I’m going to take this as being around the time of early childhood, perhaps up through late middle school. I was a fairly sensitive child (by which I mean I cried a lot), and I had my first lucid-like dream at a very young age; not fully lucid but very vivid, I think my first lucid dream was in middle school. Dreams have always been important to me since then. This is where my spiritual journey began.

The Lovers represents…well, exactly what you think it would. Falling in love for the first time was a deeply spiritual thing for me, and while the relationship ended badly, what I learned about love made me the person I am today. However, the relationship came about in a completely unexpected way, through completely unexpected circumstances. Without going into details, I don’t think I could have seen it coming even if someone had told me it would happen.

The Three of Pentacles represents planning, completing an assignment, and working as a team. This seems to say that in my present moment, the most surprising thing in my life is or will be some sort of combining of effort from different unexpected sources. This has certainly been true about my experience with tarot. To say that my readings (especially the OOTK) have taken me by surprise is something of an understatement. However, it could also point toward, sometime soon, being part of some collaborative effort and achieving way more than I could have expected.

The Three of Cups represents high spirits, high energy, and uniting with others. This builds upon the teamwork aspect of the last card, but also suggests that leads to or is a result of a sudden surge of energy and enthusiasm on my part. I certainly feel as if I’m making progress with having more energy. Perhaps in a few years I will experience a true breakthrough and finally get over the fatigue that has marked my life since at least my high-school days.

The Eight of Wands represents moving into high gear, striking quickly, and experiencing a “grand finale” as things finally rush to come together. This card also builds upon the last one, suggesting that the momentum that gets built up as a result of my renewed energy and working with others pays off in an unexpected way, at an unexpected time, to a far greater extent than I had anticipated.

Overall, a pretty positive reading. There’s no way to tell just how far into the events that those last two cards describe could take place, but the result seems to be in line with other readings I have done. From this spread I get the sense that the work I do now to set the stage for success is going to be very important, in ways I’m not yet aware of but will make sense after the fact.

Looking back over it though, each card seems to describe both a singular event in my life and also the characteristic that defined the period of my life in which it occured. It will be interesting to see if that trend continues.

[This reading was done on 9/27/13 at 11:27pm]

Leave a Reply

