Skip navigation

I made a post a few weeks ago about how my psychic journey started, and the effect it has had on my life. I figure it’s about time I talked about how I got into tarot.

The story of how I got into tarot closely mirrors how I got into psionics, in that it started with a book; specifically, a book series called the Dresden Files. Some of you may be familiar with this series, or the TV show that spawned it. Coincidentally, I started watching the show long before I knew it was a book, courtesy of the person I mentioned in my previous post who got me back into psi. However, when she went out of my life, I stopped practicing and ignored the paranormal for a few years.

Flash forward to a couple of months ago when I decided it had been far too long since I’d been part of a roleplaying group (think D&D, not kink), and after being in a few games I discovered, much to my amazement, that there was a whole RPG system based on the Dresden Files books. This rekindled my interest in the series, and since I desperately wanted to get into a Dresden game, I decided to buckle down and read all the books. So I downloaded the pdfs to my phone and spent most of my time over the next two or three weeks laying in bed reading (it’s a long series).

Somewhere along the line, a thought started formulating in my brain-space. See, I have a fairly religious background, but prayer never really seemed to work for me. Like, I would pray for peace, but receive no peace. I would pray for sleep, but receive no sleep. I knew better than to ask for a Brand New Car! and trivial material things to that effect, but there are only a handful of events that I can point to in my life that I can say for sure were a result of my prayer.

Spellcraft, on the other hand, is a much more direct and tangible way of touching the Universe. While they are both driven by intent, I find spellcraft to be a much more focused practice. In a sense, spellcraft is a kind of prayer.

However, the version of spellcasting presented in the Dresden Files universe was a hard, gritty, scientific practice (it being an urban fantasy series after all). None of this woo-woo bullshit. Taking control of the primal forces of reality was a matter of determination, focus, and applying the correct knowledge. Press button, receive fireball.

Now, I have yet to actually cast a spell. But it was around this time period that someone I had already known and been friends with, but had taken a long hiatus from the internet, came back from her sabbatical and into my life; and it was in the course of talking about Dresden Files that I discovered that we both shared certain paranormal leanings and experiences. We talked about dreams and crystals and deja-vu.

As I neared the end of the Dresden series, my focus started shifting. I started looking up information about spellcraft. I started meditating again, with my crystal pendulums. I started writing down my dreams again. I started thinking about trying to train my intuition. And it was this line of thinking that eventually lead me to start looking at tarot decks. None of them impressed me.

That was, until I found the Shadowscapes deck. This was the one deck out of all the dozens I had looked at that made me say “Yes, I want to own this.” And from there I launched myself into articles and youtube videos about tarot reading and card meanings. I took notes on my laptop about meanings and spreads and elemental dignities; and it was in the midst of this process that I had the idea for my project, Tarot Every Day.

Now, I sat on this idea for about two weeks before I said anything about it to my friend. I wanted to make sure it wasn’t a fleeting interest that I had temporarily become obsessed with, so I waited for the idea to settle. After a while, I told her. She was ecstatic. It was then she revealed to me that she had been taught to read tarot and playing cards as a little girl by her mother. Although she has never taken it quite as seriously as I do, she told me she still does readings on occasion, most recently about her boyfriend.

I can honestly say that if not for her continued interest and enthusiasm, I would not have been as confident as I was walking into this project; in fact, I may not have started it at all. I am usually not one to be swayed by the opinions of others, but her support meant a lot to me, and she remains the only person in my personal life that I’ve told about my decision to start reading tarot cards. Of the people currently in my life, there isn’t anyone else whom I know would approve, and there still isn’t really anyone else I can talk to about all my thoughts, experiences, feelings, and the spiritual growth I’ve felt as a result of reading the cards.

So my deck finally arrived. And I did nothing. I didn’t have a reading cloth. I had a long list of possible questions, but no direction. I wanted to start off the project on an auspicious date, but I didn’t know what. Maybe the next full moon? I talked to her about it. I mentioned Halloween; she suggested the autumn equinox. This just so happened to fall on a Sunday, which by the rules of my project meant I would have to do a “more complicated” spread. I had just finished watching a series of youtube videos on the Opening of the Key. So that decided that.

And the rest, as they say, is history.

2 Comments

  1. Wow, what a story! Tarot is so much better when you have support because it is not only fun and thought provoking for yourself but for others as well.

    I first encountered Tarot, believe it or not, at the Islands of Adventure Theme Park. My Mom and I were there, saw the fortune teller, and decided we’d always been curious about our “future.” The reading ended up being so fun and introspective that we are still discussing it to this day.

    The Tarot deck I use is actually a birthday gift from my mother, and I am always doing readings for my family. Even if the readings aren’t believed, the entertainment and closeness it generates is always valuable in and of itself. I still remember one of my first readings about my Stepdad’s financial future who drew the 4 of Swords as the outcome. My parents immediately declared when I told them it implied a time of retreat, seclusion, and contemplation that of course they would win the lottery, retreat to their mansion, and contemplate their good fortune. 😀 Not the true meaning, but it brought laughs and smiles to the whole group.

    • Haha, nice. It’s so cool that your family is supportive of your interest in tarot, even as a hobby. I kind of wish I had more people in my personal life to read for, just for fun, but so it goes. I’m glad you can use it as a method of bonding.

      I’ve never actually been to a fortune teller, although now that I’ve heard so many stories about it I kind of want to. It seems like it has the potential to be a really positive experience, if you go to the right one. I’ve never been to Universal Studios, but I’m kind of surprised they had a fortune teller there, to be honest!

      Also, if you ever have any insight into a card’s meaning that you think I might have missed, please feel free to make a comment about it. I am fresh of the bus to tarot school, so to speak, and the only readings I’ve done are the readings on this blog, so I always appreciate a fresh perspective. Thanks for sticking around.


Leave a Reply

